How do YOU do the Blogging?

Standard

I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. Short stories, poems, love letters, how-tos, novels, but never have I ever written a blog (I’ll drink to that!).

What do you write in a blog? So far I’ve been writing entries relating to something specific that’s happened during the day… a movie I’ve seen, a show I’ve been to, a surprise birthday plan, a surprise wake up call by the police… etc.

To put myself out there seems a bit intimidating… even though I’d love to be able to do it! I find writing to be extremely therapeutic, especially if you can find others that are able to relate and share the same experiences as you.

The funny part–I don’t mind that a complete stranger could find this blog by a tag line or a specific category; make a judgement, leave a comment and maybe find me interesting enough to click “follow”…

But to add this blog to my Facebook, or email my friends to read my entries and leave comments, causes my stomach to flip-flop, accelerates my heart rate, and creates fireworks in my brain; shooting off a million “what ifs” or reasons why I shouldn’t. “If I tell the truth I may hurt someone’s feelings” or “I might not be good enough”.

Anyone else feel the same?  What do you blog about?  Do your friends and family have access to your blog?

6 responses »

  1. Hi 🙂 I am not really a writer. I am a frustrated one. Of all the skills that I envy and I wish that I had, was the art of writing. But, I find reading other people’s blog fascinating. So, I tried to make one myself. I am recently into food blogging but my words are limited because my writing skill is so poor.
    It’s nice to stumble in your page:)

  2. I got so nervous to advertise my blog to my friends and family at first and then I read a statistic about bloggers and sexes. Apparently men have a higher rate of being succesful bloggers because woman are more afraid of getting “rejected” if they put themselves out there. I thought to myself, “do I want to hold back because of fear of rejection?” Heck no! You get out there and be proud of everything you have to say 🙂

Leave a Reply

