Court Subpoena

Standard

I don’t remember much.  Just bits and pieces.  I mean c’mon, it was 8 months ago. 

There are huge chunks of plastic and metal in the middle of the street.  Smell of burnt rubber.  Car in rail.  Kids running. 

I ask if anyone needs help.  The white lady says no.  I pull over and park anyway.  (I don’t listen well).  I tell Olenka to stay in the car and lock the doors.  Not the safest neighborhood. 

A young black male takes off his shoes and leaves them on the white lady’s porch. 

I ask the white lady if the police have been called, she says yes. 

As I head towards the wrecked car I see a human form laying on the ground, howling in pain.  Maybe it’s being a first responder for 8 years that kicks in and makes me stop instead of just listening to the white lady and driving off.

I start talking to the kid whose leg is broke.  His name is Cleveland.  It’s going on almost 5 minutes and there are no police.  There is no ambulance.  Where is everyone?  I call 9-1-1.  They had no idea of the car accident.  They tell me to stay on the line.   

The first thing I realize, the white lady lied to me. But why?

There’s a white boy there.  He doesn’t seem to be with them.  (Maybe he’s the white lady’s kid?) 

The “kid who’s not wearing shoes” steps on Cleveland’s leg while attempting to pull off the license plate.  The car is being cleaned out.  

The second thing I realize; I’m in the middle of an active crime scene.

The “kid who’s not wearing shoes” is the one in charge.  He’s telling another black male to grab things out from the car.  He tries to tell Cleveland to get up.  I step in.  I told him he could not move Cleveland.  It’s not safe.  Something besides his leg may be broken.  The “kid who’s not wearing shoes” agrees with me and says, “Yes, ma’am” and then runs to the white lady’s house. 

A criminal with manners?

The ambulance arrives.  The police arrive.  I tell them what I saw and ask if I will have to go to court?  They say, “Probably not”, which is good because it makes me nervous to have to be a witness to a crime that occurred a mile away from my house. 

SOOO WHY was I just woken up by the Pittsburgh Police and served a court subpoena at 1AM?  And seriously, 1 o’clock in the morning?  Really? 

I mean, it’s not like I have to be at work in a couple of hours or anything.   UGH!

3 responses »

  1. Goodness! You’re brave and wonderful for stopping. Many people would not have.
    It sucks that 1 am was the choice of delivery time for a summons. I mean seriously. I doubt I’d answer my door at 1 am. Heh.
    Good luck!!

  2. I now definitely understand the saying “No good deed goes unpunished”, but thank you. As luck would have it my mom was visiting me and sleeping in my room (she didn’t hear a thing, so lucky!) and I was the unlucky participant who slept on the couch right by the front door and 2 protective dogs. I already gave myself away by yelling at the dogs to stop barking.. haha oh well c’est la vie! Thanks for commenting btw. =)

  3. Pingback: Pissed Off at Selfish People « The Litter Box

Leave a Reply

